Judge Paul Lux
Pam Boss, Clerk

Traffic Division

The Traffic Division of the Erie County Municipal Court handles traffic violations that have taken place within the geographic jurisdiction of this court, which consists of Berlin Township, Berlin Heights Village, Milan Township, Milan Village (Erie County side), Oxford Township, Groton Township, Margaretta Township (but NOT the villages of Castalia or Bay View) and Kelleys Island. You may visit the Traffic Division during the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. The Traffic Division is located in the Erie County Municipal Court, 150 West Mason Rd., Milan, Ohio 44846. Please review all information on both the front and back of the citation that was issued to you. The waiver schedule can be found in the "Bond & Waiver" section of this website.

Payment Information

The court accepts payment by cash, certified check, money order or Visa/MasterCard. Certified checks or money orders should be made payable to the Erie County Municipal Court. Please sign the back of your citation and mail same along with your payment.

Generally, court costs are a minimum $85.00 for violations. If you go to trial, there may be additional costs incurred for subpoenas, witness fees, etc. These fees are in addition to the minimum court costs. Such fees and costs are ONLY assessed in the event you are found guilty.

"Not Guilty" Explanation

If you wish to plead not guilty you must either:

  1. Appear in court on the date and time specified on the citation and enter a verbal not guilty plea; or
  2. Enter your not guilty plea in writing by the date and time on the citation. This is normally done by an attorney, but you may do it yourself and must have the case number, your complete name and address and a phone number where you may be reached. Based on the not guilty plea, the court will set a trial date and will notify you by mail of your court date.

Continuances

Generally, the clerk's office may grant one extension of your original arraignment date for up to seven days.

What to Bring to Court

  • Proof of insurance for the vehicle and driver for the date shown on the ticket
  • Valid operator's license or a valid renewed license
  • Proof of vehicle ownership if car was impounded
  • Adequate funds to pay for possible fines and costs

Trial Procedure

A trial is a proceeding in which the prosecutor and/or the State of Ohio will try to convince the court that you have committed the traffic violation for which you have been charged. The prosecutor is required to prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.

You should arrive at court fifteen (15) minutes prior to your scheduled appearance time. Check in at the clerk's office. You will then be asked to have a seat in the courtroom until your case is called.

Please be prepared to spend several hours at court on the day that you appear. While the court makes every effort to move its docket swiftly, cases are scheduled closely together and there are often delays. Please do not bring children to court with you, unless they will be called to testify.

Acquiring Driving Privileges

Below is information on how to obtain driving privileges for just some of the suspensions imposed by the court or the BMV.

Administrative License Suspension:
You or your attorney will be able to file the paperwork to obtain limited driving privileges. There is a $50.00 fee to file the petition with the court. You will need to provide your place of employment, hours of employment and route traveled for employment purposes. This information should be submitted to the court along with current proof of financial responsibility. Be advised the court carefully reviews all applications for limited driving under an Administrative License Suspension and will only be granted under very strict guidelines.
Non-compliance (driving without insurance):
You may file for limited driving privileges in the municipal court of the county in which you reside. That court will need to see proof that the reinstatement fee has been paid and the proof of financial responsibility has been filed with the BMV. A filing fee may be required in some courts.
Drug Suspension:
In order to obtain limited driving privileges, you must file the necessary documents with the court. Limited driving privileges may then be granted provided you show proof of financial responsibility, proof of employment, counseling sessions or enrollment at school or college along with times of travel and route of travel. You will also be subject to random drug testing during this suspension.
DUI Suspension:
In order to obtain limited driving privileges, you must file the necessary documents with the court. Limited driving privileges may then be granted provided you show proof of financial responsibility, proof of employment, counseling sessions or enrollment at school or college along with times of travel and route of travel. You will also be subject to random drug testing during this suspension.
12 Point Suspension:
  1. Attend a remedial driving class.
  2. Take the certificate of attendance of the remedial driving class, proof of SR22 bond and the $30.00 reinstatement fee to the BMV in Parma, Toledo or Columbus. If all your paperwork is in order, the BMV will give you a letter authorizing you to retest.
  3. Schedule an appointment with your local BMV to retest for a driver's license.
  4. Once you have successfully retested, contact the civil division of the municipal court in which you reside to obtain limited driving privileges.

Please remember when you are dealing with the BMV, you must have your birth certificate, social security card, and one other form of ID, such as a credit card, state ID, or passport. You may contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (614) 752-7600.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is my citation?
See the "Bond & Waiver" section of this site. If you still have questions, call the court at 419-499-4689.
Do I have to appear in court?
If the court appearance box is checked on your ticket indicating a non-waiverable offense or if this is your third moving violation in the past twelve (12) months, then you must appear in court. If you have a waiverable offense, you can admit guilt and pay fines and court costs by mail or in person without having to appear before the Judge.
Do I need an attorney?
If jail is a possible sentence, it may be wise to consult with an attorney, but you are not required to have attorney representation. If you are unable to afford an attorney and qualify for a court appointed attorney, one may be appointed for you.
I need a different court date.
The court may grant one extension of your original arraignment date for up to seven days. Contact the court at (419) 499-4689 prior to the appearance date on your ticket to request a continuance.

A second continuance of your court appearance must be granted by the Judge. You must request this continuance in writing explaining the reason for the request. The court will notify you of the Judge's decision.
Can I call to request more time to pay my fine?
Yes. The court clerks are authorized to grant you up to a thirty (30) day extension PROVIDED the request is made in writing before your payment due date. If you need more than a thirty (30) day extension, then you must appear at court to request such additional time to pay. This is referred to as a payment agreement.
I did not show my insurance card to the officer. If I bring it in now, can I just pay my fine?
Yes. If you have a waiverable citation, you can mail or bring in a copy of your insurance card or policy showing coverage. The proof of your insurance must show your name, the vehicle you were driving at the time the citation was issued and that the policy was in effect at the time the citation was issued.
I did not have insurance on the day I received my citation. Will my license be suspended? For how long?
Yes. Your license will be suspended for 90 days by the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles on a first offense.
Can I get driving privileges while my license is suspended?
Contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (614) 752-7600.
Will my fine be different if I appear in court? How do I know how much money to bring?
The Judge determines the fine amount depending on the nature of the offense and any prior record. The Judge reviews the records, listens to your comments, and bases his decision on all the information given.

If you do not have money on the day of your appearance and your fines and costs exceed $100.00, the court will sometimes allow you additional time to pay your fine. This is referred to as a payment agreement.

If you plead not guilty, go to trial, and are found guilty, there may be additional costs incurred for subpoenas, witness fees, etc. These fees are in addition to the minimum $85.00 court costs. No costs or fees are incurred if you are found not guilty or the case is dismissed.
I forgot to show up to court when scheduled. What will happen?
Failure to appear in court will result in a warrant for your arrest. You will be required to post a bond if you are subsequently arrested.

The court will notify the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles of your failure to appear. The BMV will withhold the issuance or renewal of your driver's license and registration and immediately suspend your driving privileges.
Home Civil Division Small Claims Division Traffic Division Bond & Waiver
Payment Options Your Rights in Court Sealing Records Marriages Probation Department
Local Court Rules Victim Assistance Jury Service Record Search
Copyright © 2012-2017 Erie County Municipal Court